Brighton TTC, BATTS and Ormesby dropped just two sets between them as they picked up wins on the opening day of the new SBL Premier Division, but the ties involved were closer than each scoreline suggests.

BATTS new signing Alex Douin was inspirational for the home side, picking up the player of the match award for his part in their opening win. Although the 6-1 scoreline belies how close the tie actually was, with four of the seven sets won 3-2.

Douin faced Main to start off the season, with the Frenchman beating the NATTC stalwart 3-0. North Ayrshire’s Swedish signing Hugo Torngren was unable to register a win, but forced Josh Bennett to come back from 2-0 in his opening singles tie. Douin and Bennett then combined to beat Martin Johnson and Torngren in the doubles to make the overall score 3-0.

Ralph Pattison was unbeaten this weekend. All photos courtesy of Michael Loveder

Torngren pushed Douin right to the limit in a thrilling five-set match. Torngren was unable to make an early 2-0 lead stick, with Douin fighting back to take it in five and make the overall score 5-0.

In another back and forth match, Pattison took five to beat Main before Martin Johnson beat Josh Bennett in four to pick up a consolation win for the travelling side. 

On the south coast Will Bayley and David Andersson led Brighton TTC to a 6-1 win over Fusion. New signing Andersson beat Josh Bruce in three to get his afternoon started, before Brighton’s third team member Toby Ellis beat Lorestas Trumpauskas in four. 

Anderson and Ellis came together to beat Bruce and Larry Trumpauskas in the doubles before Will Bayley gave them an unassailable 4-0 lead by beating Larry Trumpauskas. Bayley, awarded player of the match, returned to overcome Bruce 3-1 after Andersson had picked up his second singles win of the day.

Larry Trumpauskas ensured it wasn’t a clean sweep for the home-side as he beat Ellis in three.  

In the last fixture to start on Saturday, Ormesby showed why they will be expected to compete for a top spot again this year as they registered a 7-0 victory against Drumchapel Glasgow. The league newcomers found it difficult to get a foothold in the match, despite several incredibly close sets. David McBeath carried over his magnificent form from last season to help Ormesby to the win. His player of the match performance was backed up by Thomas Rayner and Benjamin Piggott who each won both of their singles games.

McBeath and Piggott teamed up to beat Victor Guang Shi and Danny Bajwa 3-1 in the doubles. The Drumchapel Glasgow trio pushed Ormesby close in several sets, showing that they are sure to compete in the top division after securing promotion last year.

The only remaining first round fixture is due to take place on Saturday 30th September. Reigning champions Ormeau will travel to Table Tennis Daily as they make their Premier Division debut. 

This season you can watch every game live and on-demand on TTE.TV, find out more by clicking here.


BATTS 6 North Ayrshire 1

Alexis Douin (BATTS) bt Chris Main (NATTC) 3-0 (11-7, 11-4, 11-5)

Josh Bennett (BATTS) bt Hugo Torngren (NATTC) 3-2 (5-11, 11-13, 11-8, 11-7, 11-9)

Alexis Douin/Josh Bennett (BATTS) bt Hugo Torngren/Martin Johnson (NATTC) 3-1 (11-5, 8-11, 11-4, 11-8)

Ralph Pattison (BATTS) bt Martin Johnson (NATTC) 3-2 (7-11, 11-4, 11-6, 7-11, 11-6)

Alexis Douin (BATTS) bt Hugo Torngren (NATTC) 3-2 (9-11, 12-14, 11-6, 12-10, 12-10)

Ralph Pattison (BATTS) bt Chris Main (NATTC) 3-2 (11-8, 4-11, 11-7, 10-12, 11-7)

Martin Johnson (NATTC) bt Josh Bennett (BATTS) 3-1 (11-4, 6–11, 11-5, 11-9)

Brighton TTC 6 Fusion 1

David Andersson (BRI) bt Josh Bruce (FUS) 3-0 (14-12, 11-5, 11-5)

Toby Ellis (BRI) bt Lorestas Trumpauskas (FUS) 3-1 (10-12, 12-10, 11-2, 11-8)

David Andersson/Toby Ellis (BRI) bt Josh Bruce/Larry Trumpauskas (FUS) 3-0 (11-9, 11-7, 11-9)

Will Bayley (BRI) bt Larry Trumpauskas (FUS) 3-1 (12-10, 6-11, 11-7, 11-9)

David Andersson (BRI) bt Lorestas Trumpauskas (FUS) 3-0 (11-5, 11-4, 11-4)

Will Bayley (BRI) bt Josh Bruce (FUS) 3-1 (6-11, 11-7, 11-9, 11-7)

Larry Trumpauskas (FUS) bt Toby Ellis (BRI) 3-0 (11-7, 11-7, 11-9)

Drumchapel Glasgow TTC 0 Ormesby 7

Thomas Rayner (ORMS) bt Danny Bajwa (DRUM) 3-2 (5-11, 11-9, 5-11, 13-11, 11-5)

David McBeath (ORMS) bt Victor Guang Shi (DRUM) 3-0 (11-7, 11-7, 11-9)

David McBeath/Benjamin Piggott (ORMS) bt Victor Guang Shi/Danny Bajwa (DRUM) 3-1 (11-4, 10-12, 13-11, 12-10)

Benjamin Piggott (ORMS) bt Yaser Razouk (DRUM) 3-0 (11-9, 14-12, 11-5)

David McBeath (ORMS) bt Danny Bajwa (DRUM) 3-0 (11-9, 14-12, 11-9)

Thomas Rayner (ORMS) bt Yaser Razouk (DRUM) 3-1 (2-11, 15-13, 11-9, 11-5)

Benjamin Piggott (ORMS) bt Victor Guang Shi (DRUM) 3-1 (3-11, 11-9, 11-9, 12-10)