The Yorkshire Table Tennis Association celebrated 100 years since its formation with a reception at the Hotel Met in Leeds on Tuesday 16th April.

The president, Richard Scruton, welcomed more than 60 guests and the Table Tennis England president Jill Parker MBE proposed the toast to the Yorkshire Association.

The Association chair Joshua Reynolds responded and announced the award of vice-presidencies to Janet Adams, Richard Crowther, Denis Neale, Sandra Rider, Linda Simpson, Granville Thornton, Margaret Welch and Sylvia Worth for their service to the county.

Vice-presidencies were also awarded to the following who could not be present on the night: Geoff Barnes, Alan Hydes, Marcus Hookham, Melody Ludi Svenson, Michael O’Driscoll, Richard Priestley, Sally Shutt, Peter Thompson.

Jill Parker was reunited with the England national team coach Peter Simpson, a former Yorkshire junior player and Leeds champion, to cut the centenary cake (pictured above).

The reception was exactly 100 years on from Wednesday 16th April 1924 when, at the Leeds Young Peoples Institute, a meeting was held to form the Yorkshire Table Tennis Association.

Click here to read more about the history of the YTTA.

The new YTTA vice-presidents with Richard Scruton (right), Jill Parker (third right) and Josh Reynolds (back left)

Is your county, league or club celebrating an anniversary? Let us know by contacting [email protected]