After last weekend’s veterans’ takeover of the Derby Arena and Draycott & Long Eaton TTC, it is the turn of the youngsters to move to centre stage as the Junior British League returns at the weekend.

More than 330 under-19 players will compete in 15 divisions – 10 in the boys and five in the girls. Most are at Derby Arena, with the exception of the bottom two boys’ divisions, which are once again at the Draycott satellite venue.

Girls’ champions London Academy held off previous winners Wensum to win the title last year, and they again look strong with the fourth, fifth and sixth-ranked players in their line-up – Sophie Barcsai, Scarlett Anders and Sienna Jetha.

They will have different main challengers this time around as Wensum are not represented – and it looks as if Grantham College will be right up at the top with an all top-10 squad of Tianer Yu, Hannah Silcock and Maria Girlea.

Draycott can call on Anna Green, Saskia Key and Megan Jones, all ranked between eight and 11, while Ormesby’s trio are of Ella Pashley, Amy Marriott and Rebecca Savage are all in the 10-14 bracket.

While Woodford Wells and Greenhouse have weaker squads on paper, they still have players capable of inflicting blows on their opponents.

In the Boys’ Premier, champions Ormesby have lost Tom Rayner from last year’s winning line-up as he is no longer eligible, but they retain a strong trio of Ben Piggott (the No 2-ranked Junior), Ralph Pattison (No 9) and Jake Haygarth, and have added Zac Greenhough, the youngest player in the team.

Urban also look strong as they have the fifth and sixth-ranked players, Felix Thomis and Joseph Hunter, with James Hamblett (No 11) completing their line-up.

Grantham Academy, who pushed Ormesby hard last season, also have two top-10 players (Elias Sjogren and Toby Ellis), plus the No 12, Adam Dennison.

Fusion are led by No 3, Larry Trumpauskas, and Irish side Ormeau by No 6 Vepa Abishek. The only team without a top-10 player are Kingfisher – but all four of their players are top-20 ranked, so it looks as if any team is capable of taking points off any other.

Click below to download the event programme, with full details on each team and all the fixtures.