Wins for Brighton TTC and Ormesby this weekend mean that the top three teams in the SBL Premier Division are level on 20 points with just two rounds of fixtures to go this season.

Ormesby ran out comfortable 6-1 victors against BATTS as David McBeath (pictured above, photo thanks to Chris Rayner) picked up his third player of the match award this season. Jose Enio Mendes also went unbeaten across the afternoon.

Luc Miller, Chris Doran and Ralph Pattison were unable to get a foothold in the game for BATTS, picking up just one game between them in six matches.

Pattison picked up a consolation win as he beat Sam Mabey in three at the end of the tie. Although the game was already won for Ormesby, each set victory could prove vital should teams still be level on points in a few weeks time.

Brighton travelled to Ormeau on Sunday looking to continue their excellent form this season. With two games played the tie was set up nicely at 1-1, Ihor Zavadskyi getting a win for the visitors and Adam Faulkner beating David Andersson on a very impressive debut.

From then on it was Brighton who controlled the fixture. Andersson teamed up with Toby Ellis in the doubles before Ellis beat Conor Nugent, also on debut. Andersson was pushed to five by Jonathan Mooney but managed to come through and bounce back from his earlier defeat. Zavadskyi and Ellis finished off the fixture with wins for the travelling trio. 

Ormeau will have no doubt been disappointed with the 6-1 scoreline, but buoyed by the spirit and skill shown by their two debutants. 

In the lower mini division North Ayrshire came through a brilliant all-Scottish tie against Drumchapel Glasgow. 

Hugo Torngren got the away side on the board early with a comfortable 3-0 win. That was quickly cancelled out as Drumchapel Glasgow’s Danny Bajwa beat Colin Dalgleaigh in five, including a tense 13–11 win to seal victory.

The doubles went the way of a Dalgleish and Torngren pairing, before Chris Wheeler levelled for the home side once again. It was the same duo who then stepped up to win their respective singles games to secure the 4-3 win overall. 

In the day’s other match TableTennisDaily were beaten 5-2 by Fusion. Larry Trumpauskas was named player of the match as he picked up two singles wins and starred in a thrilling doubles tie. Alongside Joshua Bruce they beat Callum Evans and Umair Mauthoor in five (11-5, 7-11, 11-13, 11-4, 11-8).

Wins for Evans and Mauthoor were the highlights for TTD, who now sit two points above Drumchapel Glasgow in the league.

The SBL Premier Division returns for the penultimate round on Saturday 27th April. In the top mini league Ormeau will travel to BATTS and Ormesby are set to host Brighton TTC.

On the same day North Ayrshire are set to host TableTennisDaily whilst Fusion will take on Drumchapel Glasgow in a race to avoid ending the season in a relegation place.


Ormeau 1 Brighton 6 

Ihor Zavadskyi (BRI) bt Jonathan Mooney (ORM) 3-0 (11-9, 11-9, 11-4)

Adam Faulkner (ORM) bt David Andersson (BRI) 3-2 (11-1, 11-8, 9-11, 4-11, 11-9)

David Andersson/Toby Ellis (BRI) bt Jonathan Mooney/Adam Faulkner (ORM) 3-1 (11-6, 8-11, 11-4, 11-9)

Toby Ellis (BRI) bt Conor Nugent (ORM) 3-0 (13-11, 11-5, 11-4)

David Andersson (BRI) bt Jonathan Mooney (ORM) 3-2 (9-11, 11-5, 8-11, 11-8, 11-6)

Ihor Zavadskyi (BRI) bt Conor Nugent (ORM) 3-0 (11-7, 11-7, 11-6)

Toby Ellis (BRI) bt Adam Faulkner (ORM) 3-1 (9-11, 11-6, 11-8, 11-7)

Ormesby 6 BATTS 1

David McBeath (ORM) bt Luc Miller (BAT) 3-0 (11-6, 11-8, 11-4)

Sam Mabey (ORM) bt Christopher Doran (BAT) 3-0 (11-6, 11-6, 11-6)

David McBeath/Jose Enio Mendes (ORM) bt Luc Miller/Ralph Pattison (BAT) 3-1 (11-4, 7-11 11-3, 11-2)

Jose Enio Mendes (ORM) bt Ralph Pattison (BAT) 3-0 (11-7, 11-7, 8-11,11-5)

David McBeath (ORM) bt Christopher Doran (BAT) 3-0 (11-6, 11-8, 11-6)

Jose Enio Mendes (ORM) bt Luc Miller (BAT) 3-0 (11-6, 11-1, 11-8)

Ralph Pattison (BAT) bt Sam Mabey (ORM) 3-0 (11-7, 11-7, 11-8)

TableTennisDaily 2 Fusion 5

Callum Evans (TTD) bt Joshua Bruce (FUS) 3-1 (11-2, 11-8, 10-12, 11-4)

Larry Trumpauskas (FUS) bt Umair Mauthoor (TTD) 3-1 (11-8, 11-9, 9-11, 11-8)

Larry Trumpauskas/Joshua Bruce (FUS) bt Callum Evans/Umair Mauthoor (TTD) 3-2 (11-5, 7-11, 11-13, 11-4, 11-8)

Joshua Dye (FUS) bt Daniel Ives (TTD) 3-0 (13-11, 11-5, 11-8)

Larry Trumpauskas (FUS) bt Callum Evans (TTD) (11-13, 11-6, 7-11, 11-3, 11-6)

Joshua Bruce (FUS) bt Daniel Ives (TTD) 3-2 (14-12, 10-12, 13-15, 11-9, 11-7)

Umair Mauthoor (TTD) bt Joshua Dye (FUS) 3-2 (9-11, 11-9, 3-11, 11-3, 15-13)

Drumchapel Glasgow 3 North Ayrshire 4

Hugo Torngren (NATTC) bt Gary Dodd (DRUM) 3-0 (11-9, 11-7, 11-7)

Danny Bajwa (DRUM) bt Colin Dalgleish (NATTC) 3-2 (7-11, 4-11, 11-7, 11-4, 13-11)

Hugo Torngren/Colin Dalgleish (NATTC) bt Garry Dodd/Danny Bajwa (DRUM) (5-11, 11-4, 11-5, 11-13, 11-6)

Chris Wheeler (DRUM) bt Nathan Hogg (NATTC) 3-0 (11-5, 12-10, 11-5)

Colin Dalgleish (NATTC) bt Garry Dodd (DRUM) 3-2 (11-2, 6-11, 13-15, 13-11, 11-9)

Hugo Torngren (NATTC) bt Chris Wheeler (DRUM) 3-0 (11-2, 11-6, 11-5)

Danny Bajwa (DRUM) bt Nathan Hogg (NATTC) 3-0 (11-5, 11-4, 12-10)