Tin-Tin Ho is the only remaining English player left in the European Championships doubles competitions after Liam Pitchford, Sam Walker and Tom Jarvis were all eliminated.

Ho and her partner Karoline Mischek of Austria were given a scare by Ivana Malobabic of Croatia & Solomiya Brateyko of Ukraine before taking their place in the last 16 of the Women’s Doubles.

The ninth seeds, the European Under-21 champions in 2019, found themselves 2-1 down in the last 32 but came back to take it 11-8 in the decider, on their fourth match point.

They will next face fourth seeds Hana Matelova of Czech Republic & Barbora Balazova of Slovakia in the last 16 at 8.30am UK time on Wednesday.

Pitchford is partnering Jonathan Groth of Denmark and they were dramatically dumped out of the Men’s Doubles in the last 32 as they saw a 9-3 lead in a deciding set evaporate.

The had also led 2-0 in games, before opponents Lubomir Pistej of Slovakia & Aleksandar Karakasevic of Serbia came back to level.

Pitchford & Groth led 9-3 in the decider, but Pistej & Karakasevic reeled off eight points on the spin to set up a tie in the last 16 against second seeds Qui Dang & Benedikt Duda of Germany.

Walker & Jarvis, seeded 12th, were beaten in three by Tobias Rasmussen & Martin Andersen of Denmark, who will face top seeds Mattias Falck & Kristian Karlsson of Sweden in the last 16.

Meanwhile, the draw for the singles knockout stage has been made. In the women’s competition, Tin-Tin Ho will face 19th seed Sarah De Nutte of Luxembourg, while Charlotte Bardsley meets 15th seed Jieni Shao of Portugal. Bardsley is on table 1 at 12.45pm UK time.

In the men’s, Walker is on table 2 at 5.30pm against Jon Persson of Sweden, the 16th seed. Jarvis faces Lubomir Jancarik (CZE), the 30th seed, while ninth seed Liam Pitchford will take on another Czech, Tomas Polansky.

Bardsley and Walker are both on live-streamed courts on ETTU TV – click here to watch.

There is also live table tennis from 11.30am to 2.25pm on the BBC Sport website and app and on the iPlayer.


Women’s Doubles
Round of 32

Tin-Tin Ho & Karoline Mischek (AUT) bt Ivana Malobabic (CRO) & Solomiya Brateyko (UKR) 3-2 (11-8, 8-11, 6-11, 11-6, 11-8)

Men’s Doubles
Round of 32

Tobias Rasmussen & Martin Andersen (DEN) bt Sam Walker & Tom Jarvis 3-0 (11-8, 14-12, 11-4)
Lubomir Pistej (SVK) & Aleksandar Karakasevic (SRB) bt Liam Pitchford & Jonathan Groth (DEN) 3-2 (8-11, 9-11, 12-10, 11-7, 11-9)