A total of 31 teams from 16 Leagues have qualified from the zone stages of the English Leagues Cup Competitions for the finals, to be held at Draycott on June 3 and 4.

There will be eight finalists in each of the Wilmott Cup (Men), JM Rose Bowl (Ladies) and Carter Cup (Boys) with seven in the Bromfield Trophy (Girls).

Plymouth qualified in all four competitions – a memorable achievement especially as it repeats last year’s success.

Other Leagues who have qualified are Cambridge (1), Derby (1), Guildford (2), Hull (2), Isle of Wight (1), Leamington (2), Leicester (3), Liverpool (2), Loughborough (1), Newbury (1), Northumbria (2), Norwich (3), Nottingham (3), Stockton (1), Wembley and Harrow (2).

Pictured above are the teams from the Isle of Wight zone – Guildford, Plymouth and the hosts.

Norwich will be defending their titles in the JM Rose Bowl and the Bromfield Trophy, while Plymouth will be hoping to retain the Carter Cup. Stockton unfortunately withdrew from their zone so there will be a new winner of the Wilmott Cup

Ian Langley, the host/organiser for Newbury Zone in the Wilmott Cup, said that Newbury are looking forward to their first finals having been in the semis in 1983 when Dave Barr played – and he is playing in their team this year!

Overall there were 77 entries from 24 Leagues – higher than the last paid-for ELCC in 2020 which had to be cancelled at short notice due to lockdown in the Covid crisis, but (hardly surprising) fewer than last year’s free Centenary competitions.

Our very considerable thanks go to the host/organisers of the eight zone venues at Birmingham (Mike Browne) Draycott (Jo Green), Gateshead (Pete Wilkinson), Isle of Wight (Peter Clarke), Liverpool (Dave Graham), Newbury (Ian Langley), Scunthorpe (Andy Kelly) and St Neots (Roger Fensom). Their efforts are much appreciated.

 Onwards to a great finals weekend!