The superstars of our sport were honoured at the Pride of Table Tennis Awards ceremony at the Mark Bates Ltd National Championships on Sunday.

The Awards, supported by the University of Nottingham were delivered at a special reception at the David Ross Sport centre in front of more than 100 guests, who included the finalists, VIPs and Board members.

Winners were announced in 15 categories, including the flagship Volunteer of the Year and Young Volunteer of the Year Awards (Male and Female) plus the new Lifetime Achievement Category.

More than 140 nominations were received this year and the winners were chosen by the national judging panel.

Johnathon Driscoll, who leads on the Pride of Table Tennis Awards at Table Tennis England, said: “Congratulations to our incredible winners and finalists, it was fitting to showcase their outstanding efforts at our Flagship event in Nottingham.

“It’s vital to honour and recognise the achievements of our heroes who go the extra mile to provide opportunities to many. We are truly indebted to them for their contributions to our sport.

“Thank you to the volunteers, coaches, officials, clubs, league, schools and organisations who step up each year to ensure table tennis is able to grow – without you, our great sport would not be the same.”

Some of the winners with their awards. From left: Teresa bennett, Pedro Santos (Worthing TTC), Amanda Worne, Sally Hughes, Matt Porter (Worthing TTC). Photo by Diane Webb

The winners

Click here to read the nominations for all the finalists

Young Male Volunteer of the Year

Winner:  Tom Scard
Runner-up:  Nicholas Walker

Young Female Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Mia Solomon

Partner of the Year

Winner: Sport in Mind
Runner-up: Sported

Technical Official of the Year

Winner: Dan Bullen
Runner-Up: Sheila Walshe

League of the Year

Winner: Heathrow Table Tennis League

Level the Table Award

Winner: Juliet Bertie
Runner-up: Sally Hughes

Coach of the Year

Winner: Teresa Bennett  
Runner-up: Dave Noutch

Inspirational Story of the Year

Winner: Amanda Worne

Male Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Stephen Longmoor
Runners-up: Henry Arthur, Colin Gower

Female Volunteer of the Year

Winner: Josephine Boyd
Runner-up: Po-Yee Tong

Special Panel Award

Winner: Sue Hayes

School of the Year

Winner: St Johns CE Primary School
Runner-up: Archbishop of Cranmer CE Primary School

Club of the Year

Winners: Continental Stars TTC and Worthing TTC

Contribution to Table Tennis

Winner: Jan Johns
Runners-up: Mike Pantin

Lifetime Achievement Award

Winner: Dennis & Margaret Calver
Runner-up: Mike Withyman