Dozens of young athletes have been named in Performance squads as a new structure takes shape to lay the foundations to deliver the objectives of Table Tennis United.

The squads include both England and GB athletes, reflecting the ambition to deliver medals on both the world and Olympic stages.

The new structure begins with the youngest Futures Squad, with Kelly Sibley as Lead Coach. The next stage is the National Training Squad, which comprises both Cadet and Junior elements and is led by Ryan Jenkins.

Above that will sit two Great Britain squads – the GB Start squad led by Jenkins and the GB Potential Squad led by newly appointed National Coach John Murphy.

Players have the chance to ‘graduate’ from there to the Senior Training Squad, led by Gavin Evans, via an Under-21 Transition squad.

The initial intake of players has been selected for all squads except the Under-21s, which will be selected in September.

As well as the coaching staff from the Performance team, the squads will be supported by Matej Mamut (Senior Training Squad), Vidal Graham (National Training Squad Cadets) and Nicola Deaton (Futures). A recruitment process is ongoing for an additional support coach for the Futures Squad and National Training Squad Cadets. John Murphy will support Jenkins with the Juniors in the National Training Squad.

As well as the squads, a table of performance standards and behaviours expected of the members of each squad has been released.

Gavin Evans, Head of Performance Development, said: “One of our goals as a Performance team is to show progressive improvement year on year.

“Having performance standards and behaviours is a great way of being transparent to all athletes who aspire to be in our squads, while crucially being able to map progression in our system in order to raise the bar year on year.

“I want to congratulate all athletes who have worked so hard to gain a place in our squads and would also like to encourage athletes who haven’t yet made the squads to keep working hard, be resilient and always believe in yourself. The door is always open. We look forward to working with all athletes.” 

The Performance team will shortly publish the Pathway and Performance Plan and the Pathway Development Centre Plan. These will be shared on this website and with our members.

Squads (England athletes unless stated):


Lead coach: Kelly Sibley 
Jayden Chen, Li Hao Chen, Jake Davidson, Dimitar Dimitrov, Charlie Donald, Ryan Goodier, Teagan Khazal, Theo Kniep, Amber Lemmon, Zihan Lin, Oscar Nikolli, Pablo Ramirez Rioja, Hannah Saunders, Nishil Shah, Malek Shamakh, Taha Shamakh, Lewis Wu, Cindy Xiao, Wilson Zheng

National Training Squad

Lead coach: Ryan Jenkins
Adam Alibhai, Scarlett Anders, Maliha Baig, Mari Baldwin, Naomi Coker, Rohan Dani, Adam Dennison, Toby Ellis, Anna Green, Erin Green, Joseph Hunter, Isaac Kingham, Ella Pashley, Anaya Patel, Ben Piggott, Jakub Piwowar, Louis Price, Max Radiven, Hannah Silcock (JEY), Larry Trumpauskas

GB Start

Lead coach: Ryan Jenkins
Sienna Jetha, Ralph Pattison, Kacper Piwowar, Abraham Sellado, Peader Sheridan (IRL)

GB Potential

Lead coach: John Murphy
Sophie Earley (IRL), Connor Green, Anna Hursey (WAL)


Lead coach: John Murphy
Players to be selected in September

Senior Training Squad

Coaching staff: Gavin Evans, John Murphy
Emily Bolton, Charlotte Carey (WAL), Paul Drinkhall, Tin-Tin Ho, Tom Jarvis, David McBeath, Mollie Patterson, Denise Payet, Liam Pitchford, Shayan Siraj, Sam Walker, Jasmin Wong