The draws for the Mark Bates Ltd Senior National Championships have thrown up some fascinating matches.

The group stages for the Men’s Singles, Women’s Singles and the para competitions, plus the doubles and under-21 singles draws are released today in preparation for the tournament at the University of Nottingham next weekend.

The top of the Men’s Doubles draw pits the top seeds Paul Drinkhall and Sam Walker against two para stars, Paralympic medallist Aaron McKibbin and world doubles champion Billy Shilton. Drinkhall is partnering Walker in the absence of Liam Pitchford, who has received a mandatory call-up to the WTT Champions Incheon.

If he and his partner win the competition it will see Drinkhall take the title with his fifth different partner – as well as Pitchford, he has previously won alongside Alan Cooke, Darius Knight and David McBeath.

Second seeds Tom Jarvis & David take on Joe Sawyer – one of the surprise packages of the Qualifying Tournament – and his partner, Owen Brown.

In the Women’s Doubles, top seeds and defending champions Tin-Tin Ho & Emily Bolton await the winners of the first-round tie between Parrmis Ahsani & Luna Archard and Millie Rogove & Anaya Patel. Second seeds Mari Baldwin & Jasmin Wong will face Sophie Ackred & Brooke Morris.

Mixed Doubles champions Ismaila Akindiya & Mollie Patterson will not defend their title as Patterson is not competing this year due to an ongoing injury. The top seeds are Walker & Ho, who face Robert Pelc & Anaya Patel in the first round. Second seeds Chris Doran & Emily Bolton start against Felix Thomis & Mabel Shute.

The para groups see Jack Hunter-Spivey and Megan Shackleton as top seeds in the Class 2-5 competition, while Ross Wilson and Aaron McKibbin are the top ranked players in the two Class 6-10 groups. The group winners will meet on Finals Day in both competitions.

In the Under-21s, top seed and defending champion Connor Green awaits the winner of group 2 in the men’s – one of Nahom Asgedom, Olly Cornish and Rohan Dani.

Jasmin Wong starts her defence of the corresponding women’s title against the winner of group 1 – Sienna Jetha, Amy Marriott or Megan Jones.

The draw for the Men’s Singles and Women’s Singles knockout stage will be live streamed on our social media channels on the eve of the tournament, Thursday March 21, at 11am. Check nearer the time for more details.

Group stages

Knockout stages

Men’s Doubles
Women’s Doubles
Mixed Doubles
Under-21 Men’s Singles
Under-21 Women’s Singles