There was a welcome spread of achievements in the results at the recent annual Isle of Wight tournament Finals, with both experienced and young players winning the various events – handicapped, open and age-related in both singles and doubles.

It was also good to see an increased attendance to watch some really close and exciting matches.

Pat Thorley remains the Ladies’ champion with victory over Nicky Dando.

Pat Thorley and Nicky Nando

There was a new winner of the Men’s championship island newcomer Steve Mills overcoming Mark Taylor. In the semi-finals, Mark beat last year’s winner, Hugh Idle whilst Steve won a close and enthralling contest against the Island’s promising 17-year-old, Ryan Cates.

Ryan teamed up later with Paul Rainford to win the Men’s Doubles event

Steve Mills and Mark Taylor

Island Table Tennis Association chairman, Alex Rorke, reports: “The IoW Table Tennis Association was delighted with the success of their annual Finals Night on 1st May.

“It was good to see an increased and enthusiastic crowd witness some closely fought matches in a variety of different tournaments.

“Table tennis is gradually increasing in popularity and, here on the island, we have some excellent facilities at Smallbrook Stadium.”

Ryan Cates and Paul Rainford

Full results from Finals Night:

Gordon Burns Handicapped Singles
Winner – Jye Lock, Runner-up – Ryan Cates

Island Echo Cup
Winner – Ryan Cates, Runner-up – Ethan Millward

Handicapped Doubles
Winners – Joe Chapman & Ryan Cates, Runners-up – Derek Pittard & Tom Flood

Vets Singles Over-70s
Winner – Dave Hilliam, Runner-up – Keith Baker

Vets Singles Over-60s
Winner – Mike Turner, Runner-up – Don Hobbs

Vets Singles Over-40s
Winner – Steve Mills, Runner-up – Paul Rainford

Juniors / Cadets
Junior Winner – Lewis Johnstone, Runner-up – Joe Chapman
Cadets Winner – Jye Lock, Runner-up – Thane Taylor

Division 2 Championship
Winner – Charlie Stapeley, Runner-up – Steve Gibbons

Division 3 Championship
Winner – Chris Gordine, Runner-up – Shane Cates

Men’s Doubles
Winners – Paul Rainford & Ryan Cates, Runners up – Hugh Idle & Lewis Johnstone

Women’s Doubles
Winners – Pat Thorley & Elaine Mills, – Runners up – Nicky Dando & Nikki Turner

Mixed Doubles
Winners – Anna Joyce & Don Hobbs, Runners up – Pat Thorley & Tim Giles

Island Championships
Men’s Singles Winner – Steve Mills, Runner-up – Mark Turner
Ladies’ Singles Winner – Pat Thorley, Runner-up – Nicky Dando



First – Mens finalists – Steve Mills and Mark Turner

Second – Ladies finalists – Pat Thorley and Nicky Dando

Third – Mens Doubles winners – Ryan Cates and Paul Rainford