Defending champions Joola Plymouth can call upon the same squad who took them to the Women’s British League title last season when this year’s competition kicks off this weekend.

Lois Peake, Evie Collier and Rachel Trevorrow all return for the champions as the teams gather at WV Active Wolverhampton, with more than 150 players competing for 40 teams across six divisions – one more than last season.

Peake had a 100% record from 14 matches last season as Plymouth finished ahead of Fusion to claim the title, beating their nearest rivals 4-2 in the decisive final match as the two teams went into the fixture level at the top.

Fusion also feature a similar squad, though without Elena Todirca. Maria Engelson, Tiana Dennison and Danielle Kelly do all return.

Colebridge and Drumchapel Glasgow are still in the Premier Division, and led by Mari Baldwin and Jiaqi Meng respectively, and the division is completed by Draycott and Ormesby, both of whom have posted interesting squads.

The former are an entirely teenaged team, with GB Junior Squad member Sophie Earley at the top of the ratings.

Ormesby have three promising youngsters in their ranks, who will be guided by Karina Le Fevre, a Senior international who represented England at two Commonwealth Games and who has not been seen much in competition in recent years.