London schools championships

All you need to know about the Jack Petchey London Schools’ Championships

The Jack Petchey London Schools’ Championships is a prestigious event aimed at increasing participation and awareness of table tennis in Schools within London and Essex.

There are two events throughout each year – Individual and Team Championships – which are open to boys and girls at Under 11, 13, 16 & 19 age groups.

The schools competition pathway can be found here. For this academic year there is a new competition structure. To view the new competition structure and the details within, please click here to watch a video which explains all the ‘need-to-knows’.

We aim to encourage more participants to play within the competitions each year, ensuring that every school in London and Essex has the opportunity to attend a county qualifier.

The team qualifiers run in October or November, with the team finals held in January. The winning teams from the finals in each age group go forward to the relevant finals of the Butterfly Schools Team Championships, and can qualify from there for the national finals.

The individual qualifiers are held in January and February. Anyone finishing first in a qualifying event goes through to the Jack Petchey individual finals in April and is also eligible to compete at the Butterfly Schools Individual Championships finals.

Jack Petchey Finals Dates –

Teams Event – Wednesday 24th January 2024

Individual Event – TBC

The organisation of these competitions is based on six Jack Petchey Areas – North London, East London, South London, West London, Central London and Essex. There is a County Secretary in each of these areas, who run the two qualifier competitions.

You can find each area’s entry form to download at the bottom of this page. If you cannot locate your area’s form, please contact the School County Secretary.

Jack Petchey Areas

North London
(Barnet, Enfield, Haringey & Waltham Forest)
Contact: Eamon Brennan – [email protected]

East London
(Barking & Dagenham, Bexley, City of London, Greenwich, Hackney, Havering, Lewisham, Newham, Redbridge, Tower Hamlets)
Contact: VACANT – contact [email protected]

West London
(Brent, Ealing, Hammersmith & Fulham, Harrow, Hillingdon, Hounslow)
Contact: Nathan Nicol – [email protected]

Central London
(Camden, City of Westminster, Islington, Kensington & Chelsea, Lambeth, Southwark, Wandsworth)
Contact: Maria Ingles – [email protected]

South London
(Bromley, Croydon, Kingston upon Thames, Merton, Richmond upon Thames, Sutton)
Contact: Neil Williams – [email protected]

(Including Southend, Thurrock)
Contacts: Kirk Edwards – [email protected]

Entry Forms

For entry forms for the individual competitions 2024, please click the relevant area below. Contact the Schools County Secretaries listed in the Jack Petchey areas menu above if you require any further information.