Ormeau convincingly beat last year’s SBL Premier Division champions to move to the top of the league with just one round to play before the division splits.

Both teams went into the tie having lost just one of their four fixtures so far this year. Ormeau fielded a strong trio that included Xavier Dixon, world number 104, and eight time Spanish doubles champion Oriol Monzo. They were joined by Damien Provost. The 2021 French nationals bronze medallist a new signing for the Norther-Irish side.

David McBeath led the Ormesby three, having not been beaten in six singles games. Graeme Barella and Thomas Rayner made up the team.

It was honours even after two singles matches, Provost picking up a 3-0 win and McBeath doing the same for the visiting side.

The home-side’s debutant then teamed up with Xavier Dixon in the doubles. They were too strong for Ormesby’s pairing of McBeath and Thomas Rayner, winning in three.

Results then continued to go Ormeau’s way. Monzo beat Rayner in three to leave the home side with a 3-1 lead.

In the tightest match of the afternoon Provost and McBeath shared a scintillating five sets. McBeath twice fought back from a set down to force a fifth. It was a set too far for the north-east side’s star man as he eventually lost out 9-11, 11-4, 6-11, 11-6, 11-5.

Monzo and Dixon wrapped up the 6-1 win with two final victories in three and four respectively.

All sixth round matches are set to be played on 11th and 12th March. Urban TTC will play Fusion, Brighton host Ormeau and North Ayrshire travel to Ormesby. All teams other than BATTS have a chance to qualify for a top four place and play for the Premier Division title.


Ormeau 6 Ormebsy 1
Damien Provost (ORM) bt Graeme Barella (ORBSY) 3-0 (11-4, 11-4, 11-8)
David McBeath (ORSBY) bt Xavier Dixon (ORM) 3-0 (11-4, 11-5, 11-9)
Damien Provost/Xavier Dixon (ORM) bt Thomas Rayner/David McBeath (ORSBY) 3-0 (11-9, 11-8, 11-7)
Oriol Monzo (ORM) bt Thomas Rayner (ORSBY) 3-0 (11-9, 11-4, 11-7)
Damien Provost (ORM) bt David McBeath (ORSBY) 3-2 (9-11, 11-4, 6-11, 11-6, 11-5)
Oriol Monzo (ORM) bt Graeme Barella (ORBSY) 3-1 (11-8, 11-4, 12-14, 11-6)
Xavier Dixon (ORM) bt Thomas Rayner (OSBY) 3-0 (11-8, 11-8, 12-10)